I need a dollar….or five thousand Australian.

australian-dollars

Taking a holiday should make you feel better, more relaxed and ready to return to work for another few months. Holidays are our little breaks to regain our piece of mind before we completely lose it. However I don’t find that is the case for me. When I come back from wherever it is that I may have travelled to I always feel worse; as though I am returning to somewhere that I don’t belong. That is how I know it to be true, I do not belong here in London, nor do I belong to any one place in this great wide world of ours.

wolfgang

A man of ordinary talent will always be ordinary, whether he travels or not; but a man of superior talent will go to pieces if he remains forever in the same place.

~ Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Upon returning from my last trip, which admittedly did not turn out as I expected, I made a decision. I can no longer stay in this place that I dread returning to, I have to follow my heart and go where my soul leads me. I need to travel. I need to go somewhere that I have always wanted to go, where I can meet other people like myself.

Australia. Ever since I was a kid I’ve wanted to go to Australia. Beautiful landscapes, wildlife, outdoor activities…a wonderland for someone like me.

So I made my decision. Within a year I want to up and take off to the land down under. I would go tomorrow if I could, however it is not so simple as anyone who has ever been there or planned to go there will know. There are a few conditions which need to be met in order to traverse the Australian border.

Firstly one has to apply for the one year working holiday visa, which could take up to eight weeks to receive. Secondly you may have to provide evidence that you have enough funds to float you for the beginning of your travels in Australia. A sufficient amount is usually considered to be AUD $5000. This amount may be less depending on the length of time you plan to stay in the country. Thirdly you also have to prove that you have a ticket for your onward journey to leave Australia or the funds to purchase it.

This all seems fair enough, and it is a justified precaution as otherwise Australia would be overrun with immigrants and the country would not be the same. It doesn’t end there however; once in the country one can only work for one employer for a maximum of six months as the main purpose of the visit should be travel.

So you see, I couldn’t just up and leave for Australia tomorrow even if I wanted to. So I have given myself a few months to get all my affairs in order. Firstly I need to get rid of all the possessions that I have accumulated in my six years in London. It almost seems a shame to get rid of these things, though as a traveller one does not require any possessions as you are on the move and are never truly dedicated to one place, except perhaps that one place that you call home.

I left my “Home” six years ago, and as it goes, there doesn’t seem to be any chance of me returning there soon, at least not in a manner to call it home once more.

Anyhow I believe that our possessions are the chains that bind us and tie us down to one place. In order to be free we must break the chains and rid ourselves of what is essentially unnecessary.

In the months that are to follow, along with dispensing of my belongings I will also be applying for the necessary visa and searching for Australian jobs on-line. My plan is to have a job to go into, that way I may not have to save as much to keep myself afloat in the beginning and will be able to work to save up enough to spend the final six months of my journey travelling around Australia and fully enjoying all that it has to offer.

I also plan to move out of my flat at some point so that I might stay with family or friends for the final few months before I leave in order to save the rest of the money that I will need in order to get into Australia. London Is a damn expensive place to live and after paying rent there usually isn’t much left over in the old bank account.

My plan is to get a typical backpacker job such as fruit picking or something of the sort, where I will most likely meet other backpackers like myself. That is probably what I look forward to the most, meeting other people that enjoy the same things that I do and have a similar life philosophy, and be able to enjoy with them the activities and crazy antics that will most likely occur. Lifelong friends and memories will no doubt be made.

It may not be so easy to get there but with a little determination anything is possible. Life is too short for us to let obstacles stop us from doing the things that we are passionate about, so we should forever endeavour to conquer and overcome in order to achieve what we desire. We only live once, there is no time to waste!

kangaroos-australia-animals_105598

Leave a Reply

