I’m off to Dunbar – the birthplace of John Muir

It’s holiday time once again. Time to take a break from the stresses of life and take just seven short days to relax and do something  random. So off I go to Scotland, Dunbar to be exact.

It actually turns out that Dunbar was the birthplace of a very famous and influential individual, one John Muir. I first heard the name when I was looking for hiking trails in the U.S. The John Muir trail is a 211 mile trail that runs through the Sierra Nevada from Yosemite valley to Mt. Whitney.

It turns out that this is one and the same man. John Muir born in Dunbar was an early age naturalist and the tales of his adventures inspired the likes of presidents and congressman. His passion for the natural world led to the preservation of numerous wilderness areas including the Yosemite valley and Sequoia National Park. The trail was named in his honor.

Now any man that has such passion for the wilderness to fight for it’s preservation, especially back in those days…is a hero. Keep in mind John Muir lived from 1838 – 1914.

My reason for visiting Dunbar was not due to the fact that it is the birthplace of this iconic individual. I actually decided to visit Dunbar for a very different reason….I’m going to learn how to surf.

Surfing….in Scotland…really?? I know, it almost sounds crazy but there are waves there and where there are waves, there are surfers and where there are surfers…there is a surf school.

Sure there are surf schools all over the world with hundreds of places better and most likely warmer to learn to surf than Scotland. So why am I going there? Simple…it’s the cheapest option I have at the moment. Would i rather learn to surf in California?…hell yeah. Am I disappointed?…no. I can say I have been to Scotland….I can say that I learnt to surf in Scotland!! That will be pretty awesome….okay maybe it won’t be that awesome, but it will be cool.

So surfing, mixed with a bit of wild camping and hopefully a little wake boarding too, could turn out to be a better trip than I anticipate. I think any trip is what you make of it, so I’m looking forward to enjoying it as much as I possibly can, and tick another destination and a couple more activities off of my list.

I’ve been to the Southern most point of Europe and now I will be able to say that I have been to the birthplace of John Muir. Hopefully one day I will be able to hike along the 211 mile trail through the Sierra Nevada that was named in his honor.

So off I go. Goodbye London, and Dunbar here I come…..I’ll be there in about 10 – 12 hours. Yep, i’m taking the coach….(I really should have checked for cheap flights!)

One response to “I’m off to Dunbar – the birthplace of John Muir

Leave a Reply

